I could definitely write a ten page post exclusively about Lucy, our new puppy. But I'm not going to do that. This post will be a mix of talking about Lucy (obviously) and just some of the weird things about pet ownership in France.
We got Lucy on January 8 at a French pet store called Animalis. Please keep all of your thoughts about pet stores being the devil to yourself. At first we were both also a little reluctant about getting a dog from a pet store but after hours and hours of research and going to the pet store multiple times to check out living conditions, animal conditions and how the staff treat the animals we decided that we could trust this pet store, and after having Lucy for almost three weeks my trust hasn't wavered. We did originally want to use a breeder but given our situation it was an impossibility. All of the breeders are WAY out in the country and without a car and with the obvious language barrier, there was no practical way for us to be able to make the multiple trips out to the breeder. We have all the information on the breeder that Lucy came from and it definitely was not a puppy mill.
Moving on.
A few days before we got Lucy we went and got all the supplies we needed for her and the day we got her we really weren't expecting to actually get her that day, we saw her and knew that she was coming home with us. So we flagged down an employee, I was super confident that I was going to be able to handle this all in French, I even had it planned in my mind EXACTLY what I was going to say, and then I panicked and said "Desole! Je ne parle pas Francais! Vous parlez Anglais, peut-etre?" The guy that we originally was going to be working with did not, but a co-worker of his did. He came over and the process got started. First, he gave us a few minutes to get acquainted with her as he grabbed some paperwork and then we got started as we knew she was going to be our puppy. After about an hour of going over everything from her previous vet visits, and when vaccinations were due (all was fine, and she was due for her last vaccine in a week, which she has now) we were on our way.
.jpg)
A very strange thing about pet ownership is the pricing of the animals. For reference the current exchange rate is 1€ = 1.40$CAD. A labrador will cost you about 750€, a smaller dog 800€-900€, a French Bulldog 1,200€ and a cat will run a shocking 1,300€-1,500€. Crazy, I do understand why in France a bigger dog would be a little less expensive, there just isn't as many of them (in the city at least, I will address this a little more later) so the demand for smaller dogs is higher. But a CAT for 1,500€ WHAT?!
In the city, there aren't a lot of bigger dogs, but out in the suburbs there are TONS. Housing is much larger, it is much easier to take a dog for a long walk and not be crammed on a tiny sidewalk and end up being forced to walk on the road (damn tourists). Every time I take Lucy out for a walk we come across many big dogs, and Lucy loves to play with them and they (mostly) love to play with her. There is one German Shepherd that I have seen a few times that whenever he sees Lucy he just rolls onto his side and lets her climb all over him and his tail is just wagging a millions miles an hour while she is doing it. Dogs here are much better socialized than most dogs in Canada, there is a different attitude towards well, every thing dog related. No one asks if they can pet Lucy and dogs just go up to each other have a quick sniff or a quick play and go on there way (hey, that rhymed). They RARELY pull to get to a person or another dog, if the owner isn't initiating it, they just walk on by. This really annoyed me at first, especially when people would just start petting Lucy. I was always taught you always ask the owner before you pet a dog. But, it's just not how it goes here, and I have come to accept it.
The one thing I have not accepted and frankly, never will is that people don't pick up dog poop. It is a huge issue in Paris, apparently 60+ people a year are hospitalized for slipping on dog poop. It is illegal to not pick up after your dog, it just isn't enforced. The funny thing is, there are free poop bags on stands about every 100 metres even more in the park by our apartment. Because people don't pick up after their dogs most green spaces are prohibited to dogs. Of course, THIS is enforced, I have seen people get tickets for taking their dogs in to the park while another dog poops on the sidewalk outside the park and the cop just lets them go. In my opinion, they are enforcing the wrong law. Maybe if they were to enforce the poop dogs could actually go into these beautiful parks with wonderful green spaces that we could let Lucy run around on to tire her out.

People chose not to spay or neuter their dogs here. I have no idea why not but I was really surprised at first when I saw that every male dog was... Intact. I did some research to find out if there really was a major con to spaying/neutering dogs and of course, there are pros and cons to everything. But there was no cons big enough for me to consider not doing it. We were worried at first when we took Lucy to see our vet for her last vaccine that vets just didn't do it (if he wouldn't I was just going to get it done when we are back in Canada in May) but he was super happy that we want to get her spayed! So it just must be a French people thing? I don't know. France is weird.
Another difference is that there is no licensing system (par se) in France. You don't pay the government X amount of money and get a tag that connects your dog to you. Instead, it is mandatory to microchip or tattoo your dog (Lucy came to us already microchipped). It is necessary to microchip dogs, cats and ferrets. Random fun fact: you have to get a permit to own.... A HEDGEHOG. I learned that this is because hedgehogs are native to France and can be considered pests. I am so determined to see a wild hedgehog. I think that will be the happiest day of my life. Maybe second to our wedding day? Maybe? Hmmm.
Well, this is a longer post than I had in mind.
To finish, here is a picture of Lucy in Jason's slipper.